May 24, 2024 Hours:

More Hours
P.O. Box 337, 17 George St.
Parry Sound, Ontario, P2A 2X4 
Phone: 705-746-5365
Adults $5
Senior/Child $3
Pass Holders FREE
Start Date:
Mar 04/2020
Logging: A History

End Date:
Nov 18/2020

Explore the our area's logging history in this year-long exhibition!

The logging industry in Ontario began around 1860, with American lumber companies moving north to expand their markets after removing much of the timber along the lake states. As more companies began to situate themselves near prominent waterways, the scale of the operations grew and more sawmills were erected, turning the lumber industry into one of the most profitable for the Canadian export trade, next to the fur trade.

By the late 1800s, the lumber industry was booming, largely due to the construction of railroads through Ontario. For areas such as Parry Sound, the development of the Ottawa, Arnprior & Parry Sound Railway in 1896, meant that lumber could be shipped straight to eastern markets without using trans-shipment points, which led to the increased success of the numerous lumber companies situated along the shores of Georgian Bay.

This exhibition highlights the different lumber companies operating out of the West Parry Sound District, and explores the life of the lumberman. Discover what it would have been like to live in an early lumber camp, learn about the different tools of the trade, and see logging artifacts that are over 100 years old.  

Click on the map to view the full image or click here.

Click below to view the story map.

Special thanks to the West Parry Sound Geography Network!




Copyright © 2013 West Parry Sound District Museum 17 George St. Parry Sound, Ontario P2A 2X4
Phone: 705-746-5365 Fax: 705-746-8775 E-mail
Funding provided by the
Government of Ontario.